Teaser: My Boss’s Secret

It’s Friday! Time for an excerpt from next week’s book.

“You came here right after college, correct? It’s a very nice job for someone your age. Most others are trapped in unpaid internships.”

“I know. I’m very grateful to be working here.”

I hoped that would indicate that I had incentive not to say anything, but those cool blue eyes continued to regard me dispassionately. Except… I could swear I saw a shine of something like delight there. The kind of delight a cat gets from toying with a mouse.

“What did you do when you were in my office?”

“I looked through your desk for the papers. That’s all.”

“That’s all?”

I nodded firmly. Then I jumped when I heard the click of him opening the door to the secret room. Heat flooded my face. There is no curse worse than having fair skin.

“I don’t know what that is,” I said.

“I’m pretty sure you do. I’m pretty sure you went in there and looked around for exactly twenty seven seconds. And you came out struggling not to laugh.”

“How did you…” I looked around. You couldn’t see cameras anywhere, but they had to be there.

“You’re correct. My surveillance system did indeed catch everything. It was also very smart of you not to say anything, because I would have made things far, far worse for you if you had opened your mouth.”

I folded my hands together and squeezed. I could barely hear anything over the thudding of my heart. There might be people out there who wouldn’t want to do business with him because of his proclivities, but I doubted they could hurt him much, if they even believed me. On the other hand, Mr. Holbrook could ruin my career if he wanted.

“I won’t say anything, ever,” I said. “It’s no one else’s business. And I know I shouldn’t have looked in there in the first place. So you can be sure that I won’t tell anyone anything.”

His fingers gently tapped a rhythm on his desk as he considered what I had said.

“Can I?” he said. I almost jumped.

“Can you what?”

“Be sure that you won’t say anything?”

“Of course you can. You’re my boss. I can’t do anything without your approval.”

He smirked slightly at that. “But that isn’t enough. I need more of an assurance that you won’t say anything.”

“What… kind of assurance?”

The smile widened. I knew what he was going to say before it came out of his mouth.

“Let’s put it this way, if you submit to one session with me, then you never have to worry about being fired again.”

It’s a pretty sweet read. I can’t wait to share it with you!

❤ Aurora

Leave a Reply

